So… you’ve decided that you want to delete your account on Zoosk.
Well… I have some good news, and some bad news, for you.
The bad news first: you can’t permanently delete your account because Zoosk doesn’t give you that option.
The good news is, you can remove all your personal information by essentially overwriting it with meaningless information before “deactivating” your account.
So although you technically can’t delete your Zoosk account, I have found a way!
So, let’s get to it…
The first decision you need to make is: are you just taking a break from online dating, or do you want to permanently remove your profile because you met someone? Or maybe you aren’t happy with the site or you’re concerned about online privacy?
Whatever the reason, permanent removal is just that… all your information, profile data, photos, etc… will be gone forever.
So you need to be sure whether you want to temporarily “pause” or if you really want to “deactivate” (delete) your account.
Dude Hack Exclusive Offers
Taking A Temporary Break (Pausing Your Account)
“Pausing”, assuming you will want to come back again and find everything on your profile intact, is easy.
Here’s how it’s done:
- Go to www.zoosk.com on your browser.
- Log in to your account and go to “settings” which is located next to your profile name and select “Account” on the menu.
- At the bottom of the list, you’ll see “Account Status”; select it and you will find 2 options: Pause Account or Deactivate Account.
- Once you select Pause Account, you’ll find that they give you an excellent range of timing options, ranging from a 1-day break, all the way up to one year or even nicer, is the “until I come back” option. Choose the duration and click Pause Account. Voila! You’re done.
Permanent Deletion (Deactivating Your Account)
Deactivating your account will have a few extra steps because Zoosk doesn’t want to see you go, apparently.
I recommend that the first thing you should do is to go into your profile by clicking on your profile photo and removing your name, all your photos, location, and birth date.
What you’re basically doing is removing all your profile data so it doesn’t match your actual details. This cannot be undone, so you have to be 100% sure you want to remove everything.
Once you’ve done that, follow the same steps mentioned above for pausing your account, but this time select “Deactivate Account”.
You’ll get a few warnings about missing out on replies to previous messages you sent, losing contact with your connections on Zoosk, and not being able to access your profile or photos from your account.
Also, an important point is that any remaining balance in your subscription or any coins in your account will be lost if you deactivate. They cannot be refunded… ever.
So you’ve decided that you’re sure and that you want to delete your account…. you will need to take the extra step of scrolling down to the bottom and selecting either “Keep Looking” (i.e. in case you changed your mind and don’t want to permanently delete your account/profile after all), or “Deactivate” which takes you to another page that asks you to specify the reason why you want to deactivate your account.
Note that you must select a reason so that you can be taken to the deactivation menu… otherwise, you will only have the option of pausing.
So, choose the reason for leaving Zoosk and you will be able to proceed with the deactivation process.
You will be prompted (yet again) that you will LOSE your contacts and messages, and if you’re still OK with that, then you should select “Deactivate Account” again. That’s it… you’re done!
You will receive a message that “Your account was successfully deactivated and your profile will no longer appear on Zoosk.”… but you will still have the option of clicking on “Reactivate Account”.
You will receive an e-mail stating that you have deactivated your account.
The issue that I have is, even if you have done all of this, you can still go back to the website, enter your login credentials and your account will be reactivated.
Of course, now it will have just gibberish in it since you removed all the actual personal information. It is inconvenient, but with the way Zoosk works, this is the only way to remove your information, at least for now.
Deactivating Your Account From Your Mobile Device
Deactivating (or pausing) your account can also be done from your mobile device.
Having said that, I would always recommend doing anything major to your personal profile from a computer.
The reason is that the full website is usually more robust and the different features are more accessible and you can basically do more things, and you can do them faster and more reliably than from an app.
But if for some reason, you need to do this from your mobile device, the process is more or less the same as for a browser as follows:
Deactivation On Android Devices
- Open the Zoosk app on your Android phone.
- Tap on the 3 lines menu at the top left corner.
- Tap on the gear icon close to your nickname.
- Tap Account.
- Tap the pencil close to your Account Status.
- Tap Deactivate and follow the directions.
Deactivation On IOS Devices
- Tap on Settings.
- Scroll down until you find iTunes and App Store and tap it.
- Tap on your email address or Apple ID.
- Tap on View Apple ID.
- Scroll down and Tap on Subscription.
- Find and tap on your Zoosk Subscription and tap Cancel Subscription.
- Tap confirm.
As always, I will leave you with some parting words and my thoughts about this website.
Yes, online dating can get a bit tiring, so it’s perfectly OK to take a step back and give yourself some space. But before you go off the grid, be it temporarily or permanently, make sure you’ve hidden your profile.
Otherwise, your profile will be available for other users to match with and you will appear to be active.
If they attempt to connect with you, and you remain unresponsive, they might think you’re ghosting them. Once you choose to return, it might ruin your chances with future matches.
Hiding your profile on Zoosk is not so straightforward and that is the one thing that I find annoying about this website.
You could, of course, contact Customer Support at Zoosk and ask that your account be deleted permanently, but obviously, this isn’t the best option and can be time-consuming.
If you are unhappy with your time on Zoosk, don’t fret, that’s actually relatively normal considering a lot of reviews.